Hinojosa promotes ‘Ask Me 4 My Papers’ campaign

Hidalgo County District Clerk Laura Hinojosa displays her 'Ask Me 4 My Papers' wristband at a LUPE event on Thursday

Hidalgo County District Clerk Laura Hinojosa displays her 'Ask Me 4 My Papers' wristband at a LUPE event on Thursday. (Photo: RGG/Steve Taylor)

SAN JUAN, July 30 – Hidalgo County District Clerk Laura Hinojosa has started wearing a wristband with the message, ‘Ask Me 4 My Papers,’ in protest at Arizona’s tough new immigration law.

Under SB 1070, police would be allowed to ask people to produce their papers to prove they are in the country legally.

Hinojosa wore the wristband at a prayer vigil hosted by La Unión del Pueblo Entero in San Juan on Thursday. She said she had bought dozens of them and was giving them out to friends and family members to wear.

“For me, the wristband signifies that people want their voice to be heard, that you cannot racially profile people the way they are doing in Arizona. I bought quite a few wristbands. I have given them out and I am going to buy some more,” Hinojosa told the Guardian.


Read the whole story on the Rio Grande Guardian’s website
.

2 responses to “Hinojosa promotes ‘Ask Me 4 My Papers’ campaign

  1. Where can you buy those wristbands??? We live in LA County in CA.

Leave a Reply

